One Million Pillowcase Blog Hop

I am so excited to be participating again in the American Patchwork and Quilting  annual One Million Pillowcase Blog Hop!

I chose Moda classic muslin in white and off white to make pillowcases.
Click here to get the Pillow Pattern that I used.
I love making pillowcases for my kids, it makes them smile!

I was looking forward to try something that I just learned on their pillowcase - a little bit of Hand Dyed Indigo. They really loved it and were so surprised, not to mention that those pillow cases went perfect with my “Snowbird” fabric collection.

But the One Million Pillowcase challenge is not about making pillowcases for yourself, it is about doing something special for others.

The small gesture of  making a pillowcases is perfect for raising awareness to a cause that is near and dear to our hearts - and I love to see kids smile.

I have chosen to make a pillowcases from many different Moda fabrics and give them to my daughter Delfina who volunteers at the children’s hospital in Ann Arbor. She is already looking forward to taking these little treasures with her to hand out to the children and collect all of the SMILES.

Please make sure to visit all of the blog hop participants in the One Million Pillowcase Blog Hop and collect your favorite ideas to create and donate your pillowcases.

·    Alison Glass (http://alisonglass.com/blog)
·    American Patchwork & Quilting (www.allpeoplequilt.com/blog)
·    Barb and Mary of Me and My Sister (http://www.meandmysisterdesigns.com/blog/)
·    Benartex Design Team (http://www.sewinlovewithfabric.blogspot.com)
·    Debby Kratovil (http://debbykratovilquilts.blogspot.com/)
·    Edyta Sitar of Laundry Basket Quilts (http://www.laundrybasketquilts.net/blog/)
·    How To Sew (www.howtosew.com)
·    Jennifer Paganelli of Sis Boom (http://www.sisboom.com/blog/)
·    Joanna Figueroa of Fig Tree Quilts (http://figtreequilts.typepad.com/my_weblog/)
·    Karrie Winters of Freckled Whimsy (http://www.freckledwhimsy.com/)
·    Kelle Boyd of Ann Kelle (http://www.annkelle.com/category/blog/)
·    Linda Carlson (www.lindacarlsonquilts.com)
·    Lori Mason (http://www.lorimasondesign.com/news/)
·    Modern Quilt Studio (http://craftnectar.com/)
·    Nicole Daksiewicz of Modern Handcraft (http://modernhandcraft.com/)
·    Northcott: Patti’s Patchwork (www.pattispatchwork.com)
·    Shannon Fabrics: My Cuddle Corner (http://shannonfabrics.com/blog/index/)
·    Timeless Treasures: Sew Timeless (http://www.ttfabrics.com/blog/)
·    Valori Wells (http://www.valoriwells.com/blog/)
·    Verna Mosquera of The Vintage Spool (http://freespiritfabric.blogspot.com/)
·    Wendy Sheppard of Ivory Spring (http://ivoryspring.wordpress.com/)

American Patchwork & Quilting is so excited to host this exciting event at their headquarters – where the One Million Pillowcase Challenge started in 2010. A handmade pillowcase seems like a simple thing, but it can ease the fears of a sick child while in the hospital; provide comfort to a teen as they move to a new foster home or give hope to a family who recently lost everything in a tornado, flood or fire. The pillowcases made at this event will brighten the lives of families in need right here in Des Moines,” said Linda Augsburg, Editorial Content Chief of the Better Homes and Gardens Crafts Group.

No prior sewing experience is necessary and all ages are welcome. Groups of 10 or more are encouraged to sign up at www.allpeoplequilt.com/group to cut down on wait times.

Visit www.allpeoplequilt.com/sewathon for more details.

Happy Quilting!
Edyta

Posted in Quilting | 1 Comment

Handfuls of Scraps

 Our newest book “Handfuls of Scraps” has just been released!

It was so much fun to work on this book, I wanted to share my love for antique quilts with you so I have included 36 of my favorites along with 15 project quilts that I think you will really enjoy!

So grab a handful of scraps; even though the final vision might be a bit blurry,

your hand will soon be filled with spectacular blocks.

From dark to light, batiks to brights,

your favorite fabrics will come to life in some of the most awe-inspiring scrappy quilts you’ll ever make.

I hope you will enjoy all of the pages from our new book as much as I have enjoyed making them for you!

Happy Quilting!
Edyta

Posted in Quilting | 4 Comments

Moda Love Blog Tour – Sept 2-13

Save the date!

Join us in sharing some Moda Love and make your own version of our Moda Love Quilt. Follow the Blog Tour to see how our Moda Designers used their fabric collections with the Moda Love pattern. Share the love and post your finished quilt along with #modablogtour on your favorite social media site. You can also search the #modablogtour hashtag to see all the different color versions for inspiration.

SEPTEMBER 2, 2014

Janet Clare Designs – http://janetclare.co.uk/blog/

Kate Spain – http://katespaindesigns.blogspot.com/

Thimbleblossoms – http://www.camilleroskelley.typepad.com/

SEPTEMBER 3, 2014

Amy Ellis – http://amyscreativeside.com/

Eric +Julie Comstock- http://cosmocricket.typepad.com/

Stephanie Ryan Design Studio – http://www.stephanieryan.com/blog/

SEPTEMBER 4, 2014

Malka Dubrawski – http://stitchindye.blogspot.com/

Blackbird Designs – http://blackbird-designs.blogspot.com/

Lauren + Jessi Jung – http://laurenandjessiblog.com/

Lella Boutique – http://lellaboutique.blogspot.com/

SEPTEMBER 5, 2014

Basic Grey – http://blog.basicgrey.com/

Fig Tree and Co. – http://figtreequilts.typepad.com/my_weblog/

Pat Sloan – http://blog.patsloan.com/

SEPTEMBER 8, 2014

April Rosenthal – http://www.aprilrosenthal.com/

French General – http://frenchgeneral.blogspot.com/

Minick and Simpson – http://minickandsimpson.blogspot.com/

SEPTEMBER 9, 2014

Cotton Way – http://cottonway.blogspot.com/

Sandy Gervais – http://piecesfrommyheart-sgervais.blogspot.com/

Primitive Gatherings – http://lisabongean.wordpress.com/

SEPTEMBER 10, 2014

Bunny Hill – http://bunnyhillblog.com/

Deb Strain -  http://debstrain.blogspot.com/

Kansas Troubles – http://kansastroublesquilters-lynne.blogspot.com/

SEPTEMBER 11, 2014

Kathy Schmitz – http://kathyschmitzstudio.blogspot.com/

Laundry Basket Quilts – http://www.laundrybasketquilts.com/blog/index.php

Zen Chic – http://www.farbstoff-bridge.blogspot.com/

SEPTEMBER 12, 2014

Me and My Sister Designs – http://meandmysisterdesigns.com/blog/

Jan Patek – http://janpatek.blogspot.com/

Sweetwater – http://sweetwater.typepad.com/makelifesweet/

SEPTEMBER 13, 2014

Winners Announced on ALL Designer Blogs listed above

LayerCake®, JellyRoll®, HoneyBun®,TurnOver® are registered trademarks of Moda Fabrics.

Posted in Quilting | 1 Comment

Playing Around

After weeks of preparing for Quilt Market everyone deserves a little playtime!

Getting quilts finished for the Quilt Market like this “Flower Garden” from our new book “Handful of Scraps” takes lots of time and effort, but once market arrives it’s time to slow down a little and spend some time with friends.

And that’s exactly what I did! My first stop was at American Jane, I love to visit with Sandy, we sat for a minute and enjoyed a few sweets.

Sandy had some great tips on binding and other designers gathered around to enjoy her company.

A hug and visit with Alison who was at market to represent the amazing Basic Grey team!

Playtime was just beginning when I dropped into Vanessa Goetzen’s booth, she is one of the new Moda Designers. She had a cute little tent for us to to play in!

At Deb Strain’s booth it was all about winter playtime, her snowmen were having so much fun on the fabrics!

When I made it to Zen Chic, Bridget was not in the booth, but her delightful assistant allowed me to play with numbers.

I caught up with Bridget on Moda’s couch, probably the most playful spot at the quilt market! Moda had a photo booth there and what could be more fun than take silly pictures with your friends.

As we sat on the couch we had a chance to enjoy one of the new Moda Quilts “Building Blocks”. What a fun playtime for quilters!

On to Sandy Gervais booth, she always makes you feel so welcome, maybe it was my outfit as I felt like I fit right in as we posed with her pretend assistant.

I played, laughed and climbed the ladder with April Rosenthal in the Prairie Grass booth, another new addition to Moda’s playground.

I also got a chance to meet Amy Ellis, it was so nice to make a new friend and talk about her favorite toys.

Old friends are so special, like Joanna from Fig Tree, she even let me try on a cute new dress. I love playing dress up!

Or my good friend Pat Sloan, who wrapped me in her beautiful quilt as we took a moment to enjoy her cute wall-hanging.

I played like a kid in Me and My Sister’s booth. They weren’t there so I helped myself to this beautiful pillow that made me want to snuggle.

Barb and Mary from Me and My Sister were also out playing around – they were performing some kind of surgery? I’m not sure if they have any license for this type of activity… but when it come to playtime I guess anything goes!

Laurie Simpson and I played with quilting stitches. She showed me that it’s OK to have them a little bigger and to just keep having fun!

Getting two designers to play at once is a real treat! I had the chance to do this with Kathy Schmitz and Janet Claire – Amazing artists and such nice playtime friends!

A quick stop at Lauren + Jessi, is was so nice to see this mother and daughter playing together!

Making my way to the next booth I was lucky to run into Doug from Antler Quilt Designs. What a sweetheart and so talented, he creates beautiful quilts using Moda fabrics.

Playing goes with sharing and that’s exactly what Lisa from Primitive Gathering did – shared some of her soft wools with me, so much fun!

It was so nice to stop at Kansas Trouble and visit with Lynn,  her booth was all about picnic and just beautiful – no surprise that she won a blue ribbon for it.

On the way back to my booth, I did get a quick kiss from Barb and Mary. I really like playing with them and look forward to our big tip to France with them later this year!

This time I got a great surprise, my daughter Delfina stopped by and visited me, it made this Market even more wonderful!

Playing around and visiting with everyone is my favorite part of Quilt Market. Thank you so much to everyone that stopped and visited me in the Laundry Basket Quilts booth!

Happy Quilting!
Edyta

Posted in Quilting | 12 Comments